Freebies and Vegan Toiletries

I love a bargain or a freebie, don’t we all?
So I HAD to treat myself to this month’s Marie Claire because it had two mini Ciate nail polishes free with it. IMG_0303

The one I brought included a silver nail varnish and a top coat. I’ve been wanting to try this range for a while, since discovering their nail varnishes are vegan friendly.

IMG_0306

I decided to spend a bit more time and effort over doing my nails then I usually do (although don’t look too closely as its not the neatest job). I removed any oils from my nails using nail polish remover, then did two thin layers of silver followed by a layer of top coat. I always make sure I don’t leave too long between coats because I remember reading somewhere it’s less likely to chip if you don’t leave them to dry in between.

IMG_0308

I found that that after 48 hours the edges have worn away slightly, but as its a light colour you really couldn’t tell and it would have probably last longer if I hadn’t had to take it off for work. Generally I was quite happy with this and will buy some more in the future.

However I’m still waiting for that one amazing nail varnish which is as chip resistant as gel nails but without the phaff of removing it, as I easily get bored of the colours and want a change.

My second purchase was some Original Source shower gel in the NEW Watermelon and Jojoba. It smells lovely and fruity. Plus I love that a Vegan Society approved product is so easily found in the shops and very reasonably priced. If you want a light summery smelling shower gel I would well recommend it.

IMG_0441

My final recent purchase was some new perfume… Pacifica.
I had seen some other vegan/ cruelty free bloggers mention it on Twitter, so decided to go on the hunt into Norwich to find some. We have two Holland and Barrett shops in the city and of course it was in the second one I went to. They have so many gorgeous scents to choose from. I narrowed it down to Island Vanilla or Hawaiian Ruby Guava. I put the testers on and went off to meet a friend for lunch, so I could see how they were on my skin. A couple of hours later I could still smell both of them. I finally decided on the vanilla because I like a stronger scent. But very tempted to go back after pay day and buy another.
Isn’t the packaging pretty too? And it’s the perfect size to carry in my handbag so I can take it out and about with me.

FullSizeRender

If you have found any new great toiletries etc. recently or got some old favourites you would recommend I would love to you to pop a comment below. xx

Leave a Reply

